Digital Culture –| 2008

electronic art, technology and culture

Biohead!! No it’s Jigsaw!!

with 3 comments

Well the title maybe a little misleading, my fault. But honestly, this piece of work freaked me out when I first layed my eyes on it. I thought it’s a interactive piece that you can caliberate your face and the biohead does whatever emotion you do. BUT I was wrong, it’s not what I think it is, the so called Biohead just keeps on talking and babbling about selfish and other random stuff, somehow I find it a little disturbing. Remind me of watching the horror movie series called “Saw”. Those you who have seen it  may already understand what I’m saying, others who don’t, well, watch it at your own risk…..For me, this piece of work didn’t work at all.

One thing that I noticed within the installations was the Heart Library Project by George Khut. It is less creepy than most other installations and I found it quite relaxing. As you holding the two stick sensors they will pick up your heart rate and display it onto the screen on the roof, in an artistic way. This work is suitable for medical purposes, and the usage range is hugly expandable. I will be looking forward to this piece of work. It just makes me feel calm. I think most of you may agree with me on this one if you have experienced it at the show.

Written by superdioplus

August 31, 2008 at 6:32 pm

Posted in 1

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Biohead does not impress me as well, however it would be nice if it can respond to our conversation or even in can detect our facial state… Then it will be more sophisticated and interactive… Maybe it will be more fun, too…

    guavarepublic

    September 2, 2008 at 2:10 am

  2. True, it should be “interactive” not “self active”, lol.

    superdioplus

    September 2, 2008 at 3:13 am

  3. Agreed biohead was creepy and a little disconcerting to one’s self esteem until you realize it back flips on it’s own ramblings and takes a positive spin, not interactive at all

    neva3548

    September 8, 2008 at 4:18 pm


Leave a Reply

